whemagical.blogg.se

Enter the wu tang 36 chambers
Enter the wu tang 36 chambers












enter the wu tang 36 chambers

I learned things from the Wu Tang Clan…they taught me that cash ruled everything around me, they taught me that Ol’ Dirty Bastard had gotten burnt once (but that it was only gonorrhea), they taught me that a game of chess is like a sword fight, but most importantly, they taught me that the Wu Tang Clan ain't nuthing ta f’ wit.

enter the wu tang 36 chambers

We viewed them as the X-Men of rap, each member with their own style and background and abilities. I’d never heard anything like it…the grime ground into every beat, the random bits of dialogue from kung fu movies, and nine distinct characters…those last two elements coming together in my adolescent geek mind to add to the mythology of the Wu Tang Clan they weren't just rappers, they were martial artists, warriors, super heroes… At the time, there was no internet, I couldn’t just type “wu tang clan” into Wikipedia and have everything explained to me, all my friends and I had was the album, its liner notes, and the handful of videos we’d catch on The Box. I was 12 years old and attending private school in New York City when my friends and I were first exposed to Wu Tang’s debut album, Enter The Wu Tang (36 Chambers). They were an hour late to the stage, ODB stopped the show to inform us the government had given him chest pains, and it was one of the most spectacular evenings of my life. On July 29th, 1997, my father took me to see the Wu Tang Clan at the Tampa Bay Sun Dome.














Enter the wu tang 36 chambers